The Unsinkable Molly Brown…and my hat

Bonita Clifton Romance Author
3 min readJul 10, 2021

--

As those who know me will attest, I am a Colorado girl with a love of old west history — and all things Titanic. The 1997 movie “Titanic” remains my favorite movie of all time. Even as a little girl, I’d watch the old black & white films based on the RMS Titanic’s fateful voyage in 1912 … over and over.

So, it’s no wonder when I stumbled across an authentic 1900 Merry Widow hat in an antique store in Granbury, Texas, I just HAD to have it. It was identical (sorta) to the hat worn by Kathy Bates in her portrayal of Molly Brown in “Titanic”. I had already been collecting vintage 1800 clothing and had a creepy-looking wire dress form attired in Little House on the Prairie garb. The hat would be a perfect addition, I thought, gleefully clapping my hands.

Now for a little history: a divorced (gasp!) Molly Brown purchased a first-class ticket on Titanic to return to the United States because of an ill grandchild. Her daughter Helen, a student at the Sorbonne in Paris at the time, almost accompanied her, eventually electing to remain behind. As the uppity ladies in first-class emphasized in the movie, Molly was “new money” (sniff), having only just recently made her fortune alongside her husband J.J. in the silver mining town of Leadville, Colorado.

We all know the Titanic hit an iceberg. Molly’s efforts were valiant as she assisted…

--

--

Bonita Clifton Romance Author

Writer of time-travel, action, adventure, humorous, and historical romance while traveling the world. Visit www.bonitaclifton.com